Congratulations to Fatima Al Sayah on successfully defending her PhD Thesis!  Congratulations Dr. Al Sayah, great work!

Congratulations Daniala on all the awards you have recently received!  These include: AIHS Graduate Studentship, ADI Graduate Studentship, CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best Graduate Studentship and the Queen Elizabeth II Graduate Scholarship.  Click here to see an interview with Daniala.

Congratulations to Jongnam Hwang for successfully completing his oral PhD Exam.  Way to go Dr. Hwang!

Congratulations to Gaetanne Murphy on successfully defending her Masters Degree under the supervision of Dr. Dean Eurich. Great work Gaetanne!

Not only did Fatima Al Sayah recently receive one the Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research 2013 Graduate Student Teaching Award for her work as a teaching assistant for Jeff Johnson, Al Sayah was also nominated for and received one of 20 FGSR Dissertation Fellowship Awards. Here is what she and Jeff Johnson had to say...

Congratulations to Daniala Weir on receiving an AIHS Studentship Award AND the CIHR Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarship Masters Award 2013.  Fantastic job Daniala, congratulations!

Jeff Johnson was on Alberta Primetime recently talking about PharmaCare in Alberta. Click here to view the segment.

Congratulations to Ahmed Abdelmoneim for receiving a Graduate Student Teaching Award, the Andrew Stewart Memorial Graduate Prize, and the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Scholarship, all awarded by the University of Alberta. Ahmed also received a scholarship from the International Society for Pharmacoepidemiology. Well done!

Congratulations to Hayford Avedzi on receiving a Faculty of Graduate Studies and Research Bursary and a University of Alberta Bursary. Great work Hayford, keep it up!

Congratulations to Serena Humphries on her new position of Assistant Scientific Director with the Obesity, Diabetes and Nutrition SCN for AHS. Serena will be working closely with Jeff Johnson and the rest of the leadership team for the ODN SCN to engage the academic community in Alberta, as well as external stakeholders, in our mandate.

Congratulations to Marni Armstrong on receiving an AIHS Graduate Studentship.  Way to go Marni!

Jeff Johnson is taking on a new role as scientific director of the Obesity, Diabetes and Nutrition Strategic Clinical Network (SCN) within Alberta Health Services. Click here for our newsletter or click here for video.

Congratulations to Robin Lau, recipient of the Canadian Diabetes Association/Diabetes Educator Section 2012 Brian Dufton Memorial Manuscript Award. Robin will be presented with this award at the CDA Meeting in Vancouver in October.

Congratulations to Isabelle Colmers winner of the Junior Best Award and Danny Huang winner of Junior Honorable Mention in the Mini Oral Presentations Category at the ADI Research Day held September 18, 2012.

Congratulations to Darren Lau for successfully defending his PhD Thesis on August 13.  Way to go Darren!

Congratulations to Isabelle Colmers on successfully defending her MSc thesis.  Great work Izzy!

Congratulations to Jongnam Hwang on receiving an Alberta Diabetes Institute (ADI) Studentship!  This studentship is made possible by a donation from the G. Woodrow Wirtanen Family.  Great work Jongnam, keep it up!

Learn more about the link between depression and diabetes from Jeff Johnson's interview on CTV News at

Congratulations to Jeff Johnson on his Centennial Professor appointment.  The Centennial Professor designation is one of the most prestigious of awards at the University of Alberta.  It is awarded to academic members who have achieved outstanding distinction in research, teaching and community.  Great work Jeff!

Watch Jeff Johnson on CTV News describing details of our ongoing diabetes study!

For more information on this study or if you wish to participate, click here!

Website Content Copyright © Alliance for Canadian Health Outcomes Research in Diabetes | Web Design By: Backstreet Communications